CVSU Board of Trustees

Our Board of Directors, drawn from our diverse member voluntary organisations,  statutory partners and service users governs CVSU

CVSU hold regular Board meetings (4 times per year) and hold an Annual General Meeting.  We would like to thank all our Board Members and our President for their time and unceasing work on behalf of the organisation

About our Patron and Trustees

Mrs. Kemi Badenoch MP – Patron

The Rt. Hon Kemi Badenoch MP became our new Patron in January 2018.  She is Conservative MP for Saffron Walden, succeeding our past President, Sir Alan Haslehurst.

Chris Barrett, Chairman – Chris joined the Board in 2013 as Director with financial responsibilities. He was elected as Chairman of CVSU at the AgGM in 2014.

Councillor Eric Hicks:  Eric was Chair of CVSU from October 2008 until September 2014. He has been co-opted back onto the Board. His business career path was in the field of sales and marketing and in general management.  He served as a Director on the boards of several international companies marketing consumer durable products.   He has represented the Barnston and High Easter Ward on Uttlesford District Council for the past eight years.

Doug Mason:  Born in Surrey in 1944. Enjoyed the sciences at school and graduated in civil engineering from Surrey University. Indentured to John Laing to become a Member of the Institute of Civil Engineers and then worked for Ford Motor Company for thirty odd years. Mostly worked abroad in Germany, Spain, Portugal, India and Brazil managing large construction sites for new factories.  Retired in 2002 to pursue my principal hobbies of vintage cars and fly fishing and, of late, to enjoy our grandchildren with my wife.  Chair of West Essex Mind for the last six years, a charity dedicated to supporting people in the local community who experience mental health concerns.

Pamela Sharp joined the Board in 2014.

Gill Butterworth is a former Senior Policy and Strategy Officer with Essex County Council and has also worked in the office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for Essex

Cathy Gooding

James Taylor is Assistant Divisional Officer with Essex County Fire and Rescue, and a member of their Community Safety Team.

Clare Morris former chief officer of NHS West Essex CCG joined our Board in May 2018.